Promotions for Edmonton Oct. 15

Tuscan

In my opinion, Commonwealth Stadium is going to be the most difficult of all venues to fill for the home qualifiers. I'm thinking that we should start planning out a means of promotion in order to get the attention of the nation towards what could be a pivotal game in our qualification campaign. I have my doubts that the media is going to do even a half decent job of promoting this match nationally, and seeing as how we are all spread around the nation, we have the ability to get the word out just that little bit extra, which could make a difference in attendance.

I'm a student in the Edwards School of Business here at the U of S, so I have the ability to get advice towards the design and distribution of a promotional flyer and possibly other means of promoting the match. I also know someone who is adept with Photoshop and other electronic means of design, and hopefully he will be willing to take some time to help create a flyer.

Being a Wednesday evening match date, this one is going to be a tough sell to those outside of Alberta. Also, with it happening in mid-October, concerns towards the temperature and weather will add to the difficulty in convincing people to go. We have our work cut out for us, but let's see what we can do about it.

I'm already shamelessly plugging this game to everyone I know, but something material to distribute would be of great help to me. Maybe something along the lines of those flyers the TFC guys are handing out for the jamaica game?

There is absolutely no reason to believe that more than 1000 people would come to a Round 3 game in Edmonton from points east of Saskatoon, on a Wednesday, in October. It'd be fantastic if people did, but if a person needs to receive a flyer (or a web ad, or any mass-marketing ad) to be aware of the game, there is close to zero likelihood of them coming. Those 1000 people either already know about the October 15 game, or will know shortly.