USSF Looking To Keep Canada on the Bench

powerof11

A coast-to-coast domestic league would only survive a few years in Canada. The CFL has enough problems with its hundred plus year history...travel cost alone kill this idea. The NASL must refuse this and become "D3" while the "D2" league of six failing teams fold, giving the NASL D2 status by default. The only way D2 soccer will work is a partnership between the CSA and American Federation.

Another discussion of a Canadian league? Not yet. It's been done. The interesting thing that I found in my research (I'm not an expert ex-patriot, I need research) is that in England National League System teams still need to apply to move up a level. I had always assumed that the Champion of a lower league moved up, but they still need to meet the criteria to move up to that league. Now that the USSF is laying down criteria for a D2, some are throwing there hands up. The USL, specifically should have seen this coming. They have had piles of teams taking the path of voluntary relegation for years. From El Paso to Charleston. Maybe the USL should be suggesting that D3 is the answer, right now. Regional D3. Keep it smallish, tight and grow and build. The standards are set, build your club up to that standard, at a lower league then apply to move up.