Jump to content

2011 WWC in Canada?


Recommended Posts


Six countries bidding to stage women’s football’s flagship international event

Zurich, 02.03.07 - The football associations of Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Peru and Switzerland are the six FIFA members who formally expressed an interest in organising the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2011 by the 1 March 2007 deadline.

The first step on the way to hosting FIFA’s premier women’s football competition was to submit an official declaration of interest form to FIFA.

FIFA will send the six associations in the near future a document entitled 'Organising Association Agreement' and the list of requirements for the competition.

Having declared their interest in organising the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011, the above-mentioned member associations must meet the following deadlines in the bidding procedure:

3 May 2007 Deadline for sending FIFA the “Form of Bidding Agreement”;

1 August 2007 Deadline for submitting the definitive bid to FIFA, which must include the signed 'Organising Association Agreement' and the bid dossier.

The host country will be decided by the FIFA Executive Committee on 31 August 2007.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 will be the sixth time that this tournament has been staged.

As a matter of interest, please note that the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2007 will take place in the China from 10 to 30 September: http://www.fifa.com/en/comp/index/0,1534,WF2007,00.html?comp=WF&year=2007

Further information from:

FIFA Media Department


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest Jeffery S.

The great advantage we have is the possibility to lobby during the U-20 WC, directly or indirectly. It is a momentum that we can use in our favour. Which is why it is so important it all goes well, in logistics and treatment of teams and press as much as inside the stadiums during games.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

As much as this would be great, this would make three of four WWC tournaments in CONCACAF, and more specifically Norht America. Say what you will about 2003 being China's tournament, the fact is, it was played in the USA. We should be looking at 2015, as FIFA should send this tournament to another continent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...