Jump to content

Gage, Filigno named Canadian U-20 Players of the Year


Recommended Posts

Men’s U-20 Team

14 December 2010


Gage, Filigno named Canadian U-20 Players of the Year

The Canadian Soccer Association announced today that Ethan Gage and Jonelle Filigno have been named Canadian U-20 Players of the Year for the 2010 soccer season. The two stars were honoured in a vote shared by national-team coaches (50%) and Canadian coaches who have taken the Canadian Soccer Association’s national course at the B and A levels (50%).

Gage from Cochrane, AB is a midfielder that plays for Vancouver Whitecaps FC. In 2010, he has taken part in three camps with Canada’s U-20 team, including the current camp in Sunrise, FL, USA. He was dressed (but did not see action) for one match in the Nutrilite Canadian Championship and he took part in one camp with the men’s U-23 / Olympic team in November.

With the U-20 team, he played the full 90 minutes of a 0:0 draw against Japan in May. He also competed for Canada at the Internationale Cor Groenewegan Toernooi in Netherlands and the XXVII Torneo COTIF in Spain.

As for Filigno, the Mississauga, ON forward is in her third season with the Canadian national team. After missing the start of the season recovering from an injury, Filigno returned to play with Rutgers University and the Toronto Lynx. She was back playing for Canada in October at the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifier, helping Canada win a gold medal and qualify for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011.

In the match that qualified Canada for Germany 2011, Filigno scored a goal and assist in the 4:0 victory over Costa Rica. She also scored two goals from the bench in an 8:0 victory over Guyana earlier in the tournament.

Yesterday, the Canadian Soccer Association announced that Bryce Alderson and Diamond Simpson were both named the Canadian U-17 Players of the Year. On Thursday and Friday of this week, the Canadian Soccer Association will announce the 2010 Canadian Players of the Year.


2010 - Ethan Gage & Jonelle Filigno

2009 – Nana Attakora & Chelsea Stewart

2008 – Nana Attakora & Jonelle Filigno

2007 – Asmir Begovic & Sophie Schmidt

2006 – David Edgar & Jodi-Ann Robinson

2005 – Ryan Gyaki & Kara Lang


Male Nominees (born 1991 or later) from the Men’s U-20 team / Joueurs en nomination (nés en 1991 ou après) de l’équipe masculine U20

1. Ethan Gage (41.0)

2. Julien Latendresse-Lévesque (22.9)

3. Jaineil Hoilett (12.5)

4. Russell Teibert (10.4)

5. Nicholas Lindsay (6.9)

6. Ashtone Morgan (5.6)

Female Nominees (born 1990 or later) from the Women’s U-20 team / Joueuses en nomination (nées en 1990 ou après) de l’équipe féminine U20

1. Jonelle Filigno (50.5)

2. Chelsea Stewart (33.8)

3. Amelia Pietrangelo (8.6)

4. Rachel Melhado (4.5)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...