Jump to content

Female Player of the Year Nominees


Recommended Posts

Noticed Ed had these up on the Men's side:


[b]32.6% - Sinclair, Christine F Burnaby, BC, CAN USA / FC Gold Pride[/b]

21.3% - LeBlanc, Karina G Maple Ridge, BC, CAN USA / Los Angeles Sol

8.3% - McLeod, Erin G Edmonton, AB, CAN USA / Washington Freedom

7.9% - Matheson, Diana M Oakville, ON, CAN NOR / Team Strømmen FK

7.6% - Chapman, Candace D/M Ajax, ON, CAN USA / FC Gold Pride

6.5% - Wilkinson, Rhian M Baie d’Urfé, QC, CAN NOR / Team Strømmen FK

5.9% - Parker, Kelly M Saskatoon, SK, CAN USA / Sky Blue FC

4.7% - Moscato, Carmelina M Mississauga, ON, CAN ITA / U.P.C Tavagnacco

2.1% - Franko, Martina F/D Squamish, BC, CAN USA / Los Angeles Sol

1.0% - Schmidt, Sophie M Abbotsford, BC CAN USA / University of Portland


[b]41.1% - Stewart, Chelsea M/F The Pas, MB, CAN USA / Vanderbilt University[/b]

22.2% - Patterson, Taylor M Edmonton, AB, CAN USA / University of South Florida

14.6% - Filigno, Jonelle M Mississauga, ON, CAN USA / Rutgers University

8.8% - Pachecho, Gina M Ottawa, ON, CAN USA / University of South Florida

3.4% - Chénard, Laura M Ste-Luce, QC, CAN CAN / SC Amiral Québec

3.4% - Colpitts, Dayle G Fredericton, NB, CAN CAN / NTC-Atlantic

1.3% - Marton, Lexi D Aurora, ON CAN USA / Penn State University

0.5% - Richard, Geneviève G St-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC CAN CAN / Comètes de Laval 

0.5% - Woeller, Shannon D Vancouver, BC CAN USA / Rutgers University


[b]41.4% - Raymer, Abigail M Victoria, BC, CAN CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC[/b]

25.9% - Setterlund, Nicole M Surrey, BC, CAN CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

10.5% - Cantave, Haisha F Orléans, ON, CAN CAN / Capital United FC

 8.7% - Simpson, Diamond M Mississauga, ON, CAN CAN / Dixie Dragons

 6.8% - Ghoneim, Nour F Aurora, ON, CAN CAN / Richmond Hill Raiders

 4.3% - Hémond, Sabrina M Sherbrooke, QC, CAN CAN / Lac St-Louis Lakers

 1.9% - D’Angelo, Sabrina G Welland, ON, CAN CAN / Niagara Falls Soccer Club

It's a difficult year to nominate with no major tournaments or qualifying games in any of the ages. The senior team played the Cyprus Cup, the Americans a couple of times and some college teams who didn't make the final tournament. The U20's played the American U18/U20 and the Mexicans twice in exhibition and the U17's played a boys team and a Quebec team. The only obvious selection is Karina LeBlanc on the senior team, no idea on the youth side.

Previous winners:


Senior: Christine Sinclair

U20: Jonelle Filigno

U17: Monica Lam-Feist


Senior: Christine Sinclair

U20: Sophie Schmidt

U17: Monica Lam-Feist


Senior: Christine Sinclair

Youth: Jodi-Ann Robinson


Senior: Christine Sinclair

Youth: Kara Lang

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...


A heartfelt apology to Karina LeBlanc and congratulations on the best season from a Canadian professional in long time. You may not have been voted on by the hockey writers of Canada but 12 shutouts and just 3 losses in 20 games, starting the All-Star game over Hope Solo and taking your team to the final is an accomplishment that will stand a long, long time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Think you are correct. I'm not sure we're not better to have the CSA coaches determine these awards. The FIFA Women's Player of the Year voting is ridiculous as 99.9% of the people voting have not seen all the women they are voting for play. Here it is worse - 99.9% do not even know the names of the women they are voting for.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...