Jump to content

2006 USL Hall of Fame Inductees


Recommended Posts

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

TAMPA, FL – United Soccer Leagues announced the 2006 inductees for the USL Hall of Fame. Players voted into the USL Hall of Fame were Marcelo Balboa, Julie Foudy and Manny Lagos, joining six Builders, four 10+ Clubs and six individuals representing the original six teams of USL in the first edition of the President’s Selection, one of two changes to the voting system.

Included in the six being inducted as Builders are Toronto Lynx owners Bruno and Nicole Hartrell. The Lynx will also be inducted as a 10+ Club for completing 10 years of existence in USL.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Lynx owners to be inducted into Hall of Fame

TAMPA, Fla. (CP) - Bruno and Nicole Hartrell, owners of the Toronto Lynx, are headed to the United Soccer Leagues Hall of Fame.

The Hartrells are among six builders in the 2006 class of inductees. Players voted into the Hall this year are Marcelo Balboa, Julie Foudy and Manny Lagos.

The Hartrells founded the Lynx in 1997 in the A-League, as the USL First Division was then known.

"The team helped develop numerous young Canadian players into professionals over 10 years and expanded the club into the fabric of the Toronto soccer community with a W-League team and Super Y-League youth development teams," the USL said in a statement Wednesday.

The Hartrells recently announced their men's team will drop down to the Premier Development League, two tiers below the USL First Division as a result of the MLS expansion team Toronto FC starting up next year.

Other builders due for induction are former USL staffer Steve Clamp, Fort Collins Force owner Amy Snider, New York Magic owner Lyndelle Phillips and the Ocean City Barons' Cliff Simmons.

Induction ceremonies will be held Nov. 17 at the USL annual general meeting in Tampa.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...