Cdn U-17 player Jason Baker now a policeman...

Rocket Robin

From Share at www.sharenews.com (a Caribbean newspaper published in Toronto)

http://home.eol.ca/~robing/02cpsl96.htm Here's a game report of him playing for CPSL Metro Lions.

Ex-soccer player now a cop'

By RON FANFAIR

Disillusioned at not being able to earn a decent living as a professional soccer player in the U.S. or land a full-time teaching job in Canada, Jason Baker opted to take up a friend's advice to become a law enforcement officer a few years ago.

Last Friday, Baker was rejoicing that he pursued the challenge when he joined 35 other proud new Toronto Police College recruits at an impressive graduation ceremony.

"In my new role as a cop, I will be able to give back something to the community," says Baker who aspires to be a homicide detective. "I enjoyed the training, and now I am looking forward to playing my role as a productive law enforcement officer."

Becoming a police officer was certainly not at the top of Baker's career goal chart when he embarked on a soccer scholarship at the University of Illinois. He graduated with a degree in kinesiology, but had limited success securing a decent job in soccer to pay the bills.

Baker returned home from the U.S. in the summer of 2001, frustrated that he was unable to secure regular employment with semi-professional teams. Niggling knee injuries did not help his cause either.

He decided to use his degree to teach physical education, but soon found out that opportunities were limited.

"It was a pretty frustrating period for me," recalled Baker who represented Canada in soccer at the Under-17 level. "It seemed at the time that I was going nowhere until a friend of mine who was in the force encouraged me to join."