Jump to content

2006 Canada West Allstars


Recommended Posts

Canada West announces the 2006 men’s soccer award winners and All-Stars, as selected by head coaches conference-wide.

Voted 2006 Player of the Year is Junior Castrillon-Rendon from the University of Alberta Golden Bears. Back with the U of A after playing two years overseas, the sophomore halfback tied for the Canada West lead with eight goals and picked up three assists for the first-place Golden Bears. Alberta finished the conference season 9-0-5, thereby earning the right to host this weekend’s Final Four in Edmonton, and is already guaranteed a spot at the 2006 CIS championship, Nov. 9-12, as host of the event.

Trinity Western halfback Stefan Leslie is the Rookie of the Year after picking up three goals and two helpers, while playing in every contest during the 14-game conference season. At 7-5-2, the Spartans tied for third in points with Calgary, but placed fourth based on tie-breaking procedures, and have the tough task of taking on undefeated, CIS No. 1-ranked Alberta in an effort to win Canada West and grab the one unclaimed conference berth at Nationals.

One day after Liz Jepsen claimed Canada West women’s Coach of the Year, fellow Alberta coach, the Bears’ Len Vickery, has been chosen as winner on the men’s side. Vickery, in his 22nd year as the team’s leader, helped Alberta become the top-ranked team across the nation as one of two undefeated squads in CIS (9-0-5). Aside from university competition, Vickery runs the highly respected Green & Gold Academy, has been awarded the CSA “A” Licence Coaching Award and, back in 2003, led Canada’s team into battle at the FISU Games in Daegu, South Korea.

Named as winner of the Student-Athlete award is Nicola Perugini from the TWU Spartans, who had a terrific season offensively, with a conference-high seven assists and eight points overall. In the classroom Perugini is an outgoing, critical thinker who excels in Human Kinetics, with a minor in Biblical Studies. He works in the School of Human Kinetics and the Department of Athletics as a supervisor in the area of sport analysis, assisting both professors and coaches in the analysis of video for their classes and teams.

Beyond school, sport and work, the fourth-year midfielder and team captain is very active in the community, both in B.C. and back at his hometown of Montreal. Within B.C. he is a Prison Ministry Co-ordinator, where he has 10 of his soccer teammates who volunteer at the Willingdon Youth Detention Center for 10 weeks each spring.

Following is a breakdown of all Canada West men’s soccer winners:


Player of the Year: Junior Castrillon-Rendon, Alberta

Rookie of the Year: Stefan Leslie, Trinity Western

Coach of the Year: Len Vickery, Alberta

Student-Athlete Award: Nicola Perugini, Trinity Western

Fair Play Award: Victoria


First Team


Srdjan Djekanovic, UBC


Diaz Kambere, Trinity Western

Erik Kuhn, Alberta

Brian Reems, UBC

Adam MacDonald, Calgary


Nicola Perugini, Trinity Western

Junior Castrillon-Rendon, Alberta

Jordan Schidlowsky, Sask.

Carlos Cruz, Calgary


Steve Frazao, UBC

Cole McFarlane, Victoria

Second Team


J.P. Crescenzi, Calgary


Ben DeCosse, UBC

Colin Wilson, Victoria

Harman Braich, Alberta

Brendan Garritty, Saskatchewan


Stefan Leslie, Trinity Western

Mark Korthuis, Alberta

Nick Poole, UBC

Mike Elliott, UBC


John Konye, Alberta

Luke Sandilands, UBC

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...