Jump to content

Mexico v. Brazil (R)


Recommended Posts

From CONCACAF web site:

Mexico captures fourth CONCACAF Gold Cup on Osorno’s golden goal

27.7.03 - Mexico captured their fourth overall CONCACAF Gold Cup with a 1:0 overtime victory over Brazil in the 2003 final in front of 80,000 spectators at the Estadio Azteca in Ciudad de México this afternoon.

After an intense 90 minutes of regulation the final Gold Cup match remained scoreless 0:0 for the first time since 1991 as it went into the “golden goal” overtime period.

“It was a difficult game,” said Mexico technical director Ricardo La Volpe. “We know that Brazil wasn’t going to give us anything but we continued to pressure them to create more and more chances and we finally got the goal that was needed.”

Just seven minutes into the first overtime period Mexican forward Daniel Osorno dribbled across the penalty area from the right side and hit a left foot shot past the Brazilian goalkeeper Gomes for the game-winner.

“We are very unhappy but it was a good experience for this young squad,” said Brazil technical director Ricardo Gomes. “Unfortunately, we didn’t have enough time to prepare for this competition but Mexico was ready as they were playing at home.”

The tricolores’ netminder Oswaldo Sanchez earned his fifth consecutive shutout and was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper, while forward Jesus Arellano was selected at the 2003 Gold Cup Most Valuable Player.

The Fair Play award went to the USA, while the 2003 Gold Cup topscorer was shared between Costa Rican midfielder Walter Centano and USA forward Landon Donovan, each with four tallies.

This is the tricolor first Gold Cup crown since 1998, after previously claiming the CONCACAF title in 1993 and 1996.

It is only the second time in CONCACAF tournament’s history that a team does not give up a goal during the competition. Mexico had previously done it at the 1996 Gold Cup.

The victory also secures Mexico as the CONCACAF representative to the next FIFA Confederations Cup set for Germany 2005.

27.07.2003: Ciudad de Mexico, MEXICO; Estadio Azteca (A: 80000)

BRAZIL – MEXICO 0:1 (0:0) (0:0) a.e.t.

Daniel OSORNO 97’

BRA: Gomes – Maicon, Luisao, Alex, Adriano (60: Coelho), Paulo Almeida, Julio Baptista, Kaká, Diego, Robinho (46: Carlos Alberto), Nilmar (90: Ewerthon). Booked: Julio Baptista 15’, Diego 54’, Luisao 76’, Paulo Almeida 87’

TD: Ricardo GOMES

MEX: Oswaldo Sanchez – Fernando Salazar (76: Mario Mendez), Omar Briceno, Octavio Valdez, Pavel Pardo, Jared Borgetti, Luis Pérez, Salvador Carmona, Rafael Garcia (65: Daniel Osorno), Jesus Arellano (65: Juan Pablo Rodriguez). Booked: Carmona 86’

TD: Ricardo LA VOLPE

R: Mauricio NAVARRO (CAN)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...