Jump to content
  • Sign in to follow this  

    2015 Fury FC Canadian Championship (Voyageurs Cup) – Preliminary Round, 1st Leg – Ottawa vs Edmonton Preview; 2015 Fury FC NASL Season – Matchday 3 – Ottawa vs Minnesota Review


    The winner from the 2 legs moves on to face Vancouver in the semifinals, with the winner of the tourney guaranteed a spot in the 2016/17 CONCACAF Champions League. As you can guess, tonight’s game is a massive one for Ottawa and Edmonton fans.

    The two clubs faced off at the same stage in 2014, with a 0-0 draw in Ottawa in windy conditions followed by a 3-1 win for Edmonton at home in the 2nd leg, enabling the Eddies to progress. They would go on to lose to Montreal in a heart-breaking fashion in the 7th minute of 2nd half injury time in the 2nd leg, due to a brutal call from the referee.

    The Impact went on to win the 2014 V Cup, and have progressed throughout the year in the 2014/15 CONCACAF Champions League, and are playing the 1st leg of the CCL Final tonight. The connection from the 1st leg of the preliminary round a year ago to the CCL final today seems profound today.

    There are a ton of talking points for today’s game, and a ton of trash talk flying on Twitter at this very moment as well. This game is notable for being both the first fixture in the 2015 V Cup, as well as the number of Canadians that will get minutes on both sides today.

    – Fury FC notes: Richie Ryan picked up a knee injury in training over the weekend and has been ruled out for 3 to 4 weeks, joining Phil Davies on the sidelines.

    While Chris Hofley had been hinting at a possible rotation in for Mason Trafford and Mike Randolph for this match, Richard Starnes has published what he believes to be the full starting XI, with the only player rotated in being Andrew Wiedeman, while Sinisa Ubiparipovic makes his return from injury to the CAM role for Carl Haworth, who is struggling with a bout of the flu.

    Canada MNT captain Julian de Guzman makes his return to the Voyageurs Cup, after having won it 3 times from 2010 to 2012 with Toronto FC, while Ubiparipovic boasts one cup triumph as well with Montreal in 2013.

    Rafael Alves and Tom Heinemann were named to the NASL Team of the Week for matchday 3 for their respective defensive and offensive performances vs. Minnesota, in a huge morale-boosting 1-0 win on Saturday.

    – FC Edmonton notes: The Eddies had a couple players of their own named to the NASL TotW, with Sainey Nyassi, and Tomi Ameobi earning the plaudits after the 3-2 comeback win over Ft. Lauderdale on Sunday.

    Lance Laing has been the key man for the Eddies for the past two seasons, and Ottawa is no stranger to his runs on the left flank, while Nyassi patrols the opposite flank. Laing’s corner kick goal from last year has remained a bit of a sore spot for Fury fans.

    Eddie Edward makes his return to Ottawa, which is always sure to be greeted by his family and friends in Ottawa, with the player born and bred in the nation’s capital and having come up through the youth academy and PDL side in Ottawa, and making a MLS appearance as well with Dallas.


    2015 Fury FC Canadian Championship (Voyageurs Cup) – Preliminary Round, 1st Leg – Ottawa Fury FC vs. FC Edmonton Preview

    When: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm EDT

    Where: TD Place Stadium, Lansdowne Park, Ottawa, ON (Watch at OttawaFuryFC.com, CanadaSoccer.com; Listen at 580 CFRA AM)

    Ottawa Injuries and Suspensions: CM Phil Davies (out – arm, 6-8 weeks), DM Richie Ryan (out – ankle, 3-4 weeks), RW Carl Haworth (doubtful – illness)

    Ottawa Possible Starting Lineup (4-2-3-1) (R to L): Peiser; Richter, Rafael Alves, Falvey, Poltronieri; de Guzman, Paterson; Oliver, Ubiparipovic, Paulo Jr.; Wiedeman

    Ottawa Possible Bench: DeBellis, Beckie, Trafford, Randolph, Misik, Haworth, Heinemann

    Edmonton Previous Matchday Lineup – 3-2 W – (4-1-4-1) (L to R) – VanOekel; Moses, Watson, Roberts, Edward; Raudales (Granitto); Laing, Burt (Jalali), Jones, Nyassi; Jonke (Ameobi)

    Edmonton Players to Watch: Lance Laing, Sainey Nyassi, Eddie Edward

    Previous Match: Oct 18, 2014 – NASL – Ottawa Fury FC vs. FC Edmonton – 0-2 L – https://offcreview.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/nasl-2014-matchday-25-ottawa-vs-edmonton-review/


    The Fury FC picked up a 1-0 victory over MLS-bound Minnesota on Saturday in their season home opener.

    I was standing in the supporters section with the Bytown Boys on Saturday and have yet to have had the chance to rewatch the match fully on YouTube, due to a very busy week.

    The quick observations that can be taken from the match is that the new 4-2-3-1 formation is paying off significant dividends for the Fury, with JDG, Nicki Paterson, Richie Ryan, Patryk Misik and Mauro Eustaquio all more than suitable for the 2 DM positions.

    JDG in particular had an outstanding 2nd half, making tackles left and right, while Tom Heinemann scored the winner in the 67th minutes off a side-footer after nifty footwork to beat a Minny defender. Paulo Jr. has proven to be the x-factor for the Fury with his dynamic wing play, which has added an extra dimension to what the Fury have had in 2014.

    The Fury FC had picked up what was only their 2nd victory at TD Place in history, since their move during the 2014 summer break. The players were ecstatic after the match, with at least 5 players jumping into the supporters section in Section W after the game to receive the plaudits from the supporters.


    2015 Fury FC NASL Season – Matchday 3 – Ottawa Fury FC vs. Minnesota United FC Review – 1-0 W

    When: Saturday, April 18, 2015 @ 3:00pm EDT

    Where: TD Place Stadium, Lansdowne Park, Ottawa, ON (Watch at OttawaFuryFC.com, Rogers TV 22, RogersTV.com, TSN Go, ESPN 3; Listen at TSN 1200 AM, 94,5 Unique FM)

    Ottawa Injuries and Suspensions: CM Phil Davies (out – arm)

    Ottawa Returnees: LW Paulo Jr. (short-term knock – return to starting lineup); DM Richie Ryan, AM Sinisa Ubiparipovic (mid-term injury – return to bench); CM Julian de Guzman (1-game suspension)

    Ottawa (4-2-3-1) – Peiser; Poltronieri, Falvey, Rafael Alves, Richter; de Guzman, Paterson; Paulo Jr. (Ryan 76′), Oliver (Misik 87′), Haworth; Heinemann (Wiedeman 68′)

    Ottawa Subs: DeBellis, Trafford, Beckie, Ubiparipovic

    Minnesota (4-1-4-1) – Ndjock; Davis, Calvano, Dias, Kallman; Vicentini (Alhassan 67’); Steele, Ibson (Pitchkolan 33’), Ibarra, Mendes (Campos 74’); Ramirez

    Ottawa Goal/Assist – Heinemann 67′

    Minnesota Goal – None

    You can follow Namu Yoon on Twitter at @BBSC_SeoulBro and @OFFCReview, and his Canadian Soccer News articles on Ottawa Fury FC at http://www.canadiansoccernews.com/index.php?/page/articles.html/_/ottcityfootie and https://offcreview.wordpress.com.

    Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...