Jump to content

UEFA Women's Champions League


tc-in-bc
 Share

Recommended Posts

2016/2017  UEFA Women's Champions League

Canadians playing in the Round of 32  -- first leg (  Wednesday,  October 5, 2016  ) :

- Breidablik ( Iceland ) vs  Rosengard ( Sweden ) - Ella Maser-Mcleod   /        17:30 CET,    11:30 am  ET,   8:30 am PT

- Sturm Graz ( Austria ) vs FC Zurich Frauen ( Switzerland ) -- Adriana Leon /  18:00 CET , 12:00 pm  ET,    9:00 am PT

                                                                               (Thursday, October 6, 2016 ) :

- Lillestrom SK ( Norway ) -- Erin McNulty  vs Paris Saint-Germain ( France ) /  19:00 CET,    1:00 pm ET,     10:00 am PT

 

Edited by tc-in-bc
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Goal !!!  Leon  67'.A  hatrick !  SK Sturm Graz 0 - 4  FC Zurich Frauen.

UPDATE:

FT.   SK Sturm Graz 0 - 6 FC Zurich Frauen.

It was all Leon in this Champions League match and she was instrumental in Zurich's final two goals.  At the 72' she was pulled down in the box and a penalty was awarded to Zurich which was successfully taken by Selina Kuster. And  at the 90' Leon  headed the ball down along the line of an empty net for Fabienne Humm to put in.( assist Leon ) .

Edited by tc-in-bc
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I was wondering if the league was too easy for her, but then I remembered that it was the Champions League.  Maybe it was just Sturm Graz that were too easy.  Anyway, the main thing is that she improves her form, so here's hoping that Zurich Frauen go far.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Round of 16 first leg  ( Wednesday,  November 9, 2016 ):

- Olympique Lyonnais vs FC Zurich Frauen  18:15 CET,  9:15 am ( PT), 12:15 pm ( ET)

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/matches/round=2000810/match=2020681/prematch/player-lists/index.html

- probably the end of the line of Zurich as well as Adriana Leon.

- not sure if Delphine Cascarino will be available for OL -- she's with the France U20 in Australia destined for PNG.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...

2016/2017  UEFA Women's Champions League

Canadians playing in the Quarterfinals  -- first leg (  Wednesday, March 22, 2017 )

- Rosengard ( McLeod, Masar)  vs Barcelona ,  19:00 CET, 2:00 pm ET, 11:00 am PT

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/matches/round=2000811/match=2020694/prematch/player-lists/index.html

Canadians playing in the Quarterfinals  -- first leg  ( Thursday,  March 23, 2017 )

- Bayern vs Paris ( Ashley Lawrence ),   19:00 CET,  2:00 pm ET, 11:00 am PT

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/matches/round=2000811/match=2020696/prematch/player-lists/index.html

- Wolfsburg vs Lyon ( Kadeisha Buchanan )    20:15 CET, 3:15 pm ET, 12:15 pm PT

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/matches/round=2000811/match=2020695/prematch/player-lists/index.html

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Consider the Wolfsburg vs Lyon squads.  Here's about 15 from each:

Wolfsburg

Almuth Schult
Luisa Wensing
Nilla Fischer
Emily Van Egmond
Babett Peter
Sara Bjork Gunnarsdóttir
Lara Dickenmann
Lena Goessling
Élise Bussaglia
Pernille Harder
Tessa Wullaert
Alexandra Popp
Ramona Bachmann
Caroline Graham Hansen
Anja Mittag

Lyon

Sarah Bouhaddi
Wendie Renard
Saki Kumagai
Kadeisha Buchanan
Josephine Henning
Griedge M'Bock Bathy
Eugénie Le Sommer
Dzsenifer Marozsán
Claire Lavogez
Camille Abily
Caroline Seger
Élodie Thomis
Ada Hegerberg
Pauline Bremer
Alex Morgan

What a game.

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

An interesting quote from Gary Cahill this morning commenting on England player development (male):

"and how can the gap to Germany's model of consistent success finally be closed?

"That is probably the golden question isn't it?" Cahill said. "To develop, young players have to play as much football as they can at club level and play in massive, important games - play cup finals or win leagues. That will happen.

"The more experiences they go through - good and bad - will bring them on as players and characters."

 

Edited by Vic
Typo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

After the first leg of of last year's final Lyon are looking like the favourite to repeat as holders.

Is it the players? Sure. Is it the coaching? Sure. But the real winner is Jean-Michel Aulas. If anyone deserves the trophy it's him.

World class club football is about building super teams and he's done an exemplary job.

It helps to be worth half a billion dollars but kudos to him for setting the standard for others to aspire to.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

2016/2017  UEFA Women's Champions League Final :  OL vs PSG

Thursday, June 1 , 2017  ( 20:45 CET.  3:45 pm ET, 12:45 pm PT )

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/news/newsid=2472552.html

Basically, PSG ( with Ashley Lawrence ) need to win it, to get in it   A loss by PSG next Thursday means more than just just losing the final, it also means NO   UEFA Women's Champions League for PSG next season ( 2017/2018). On May 13, 2017, PSG's loss in league play  to OL ( with Kadeisha Buchanan ) clinched second place in the league and  clinched  D1F's second qualifying spot in next seasons UWCL,  for Montpellier.  This left  PSG in third place and outside of UWCL, but a PSG win on  Thursday would allow PSG to return to next season's UWCL  as the holder, to defend their crown. Should this happen, D1F would have 3 representatives in UWCL : OL, Montpellier, and PSG.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Lyon the huge favourite, bet a dollar and make 50 cents if they win.  Bet a buck on PSG and make 6 bucks if they win.

Tickets for the final are $10 CDN.

PSG have ML Delie, Cristiane, Laura Georges, Ashley Lawrence and a few other capable players like Sabrinne Delannoy, Shirley Cruz, Veronica Boquete, etc.

But they are outgunned majorly by Lyon with Renard, Kumagi, Le Sommer, Marozsan, Buchanan, Abily, Seger, Thomis, Morgan, Hegerberg, etc.  

PSG's coach Patrice Lair was coach of OLY for a long time.  Hopefully he has something up his sleeve to keep them in the game and it from being over early and a yawner.

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Great run by Lawrence at the end of the half nearly gave PSG the lead as her low cross found Cristiane near the penalty spot, but she flashed it over the bar. Lawrence has been quite good in general so far; Buchanan has had some good moments for Lyon, but a couple of poor passes as well.

Edited by Zem
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share


×
×
  • Create New...