Jump to content

CONCACAF Boys’ Under-15 Championship (August 2015)


Recommended Posts

CONCACAF Announces 34 Teams for Boys' Under-15 Championship

Second biennial grassroots youth football initiative to be played in Cayman Islands in August

Miami (Sunday, February 15, 2015) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced plans for the second edition of the CONCACAF Boys’ Under-15 Championship, to be held in the Cayman Islands from August 9-23, 2015.

Thirty-four (34) nations from across the region have signed on to participate in the tournament -- an increase of over 50 percent in participation levels from the 2013 edition. The tournament is designed to encourage development for youths from across the Confederation, while promoting competition at the international level for all member associations – including those for which few opportunities have previously existed at this age level.

“CONCACAF is proud of the response from its member associations in their commitment towards development,” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb. “Two years ago, the inaugural tournament provided CONCACAF a competitive environment where we observed and thoroughly enjoyed the quality on display from our junior players. The under-15 tournament now begins a transition, from a start-up event into a critical step for our development. As the Confederation works together with our Member Associations, our priority and objective is to equip our players with advanced technical and tactical skills.”

In addition to player development, CONCACAF has added a new dimension to this year’s tournament in the form of a coaching education program, which will be held prior to and during the tournament. This affords all under-15 coaches the opportunity to learn new techniques, with the aim of implementing these with their under-15 teams during the tournament.

Interest in the under-15 tournament is high across the Confederation. From 22 participants at the inaugural CONCACAF Boys’ Championship in 2013, the list of confirmed participating teams for this year’s edition reached an astounding 34 of CONCACAF’s 41 Member Associations as inscription closed last month.

Scheduled to participate (in alphabetical order by region):

Caribbean region (24): Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Saint-Martin, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, and the U.S. Virgin Islands,

Central American región (7): Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama,

North American region (3): Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

“We are extremely pleased to be able to host what is anticipated to be the largest ever under-15 CONCACAF football tournament in August 2015,” said Cayman Islands Minister of Community Affairs, Youth and Sports, Hon. Osbourne Bodden. “With over 34 teams expected, it will also be the largest ever tournament of its kind to be held in the Cayman Islands. I am particularly pleased that this tournament will be focused on the younger football players.”

“The hosting of the first boys U-15 CONCACAF tournament two years ago injected a new energy into youth football. I am confident that with the Government’s increased financial support of the National Football Teams, we will see strong performances from our young players. I am sure that this showcase of youth football will be welcomed by players, fans and the community at large and I encourage all to come out and support this tournament,” Minister Bodden added.

Like the 2014 CONCACAF Girls’ Under-15 Championship, which was also staged in the Cayman Islands, this year’s competition is provisionally scheduled for venues on Grand Cayman and Cayman Brac, with teams set to be divided into various groups. The top sides from each group will qualify to a knockout round which will determine the regional champion at this level.

In 2013, Honduras outlasted Guatemala, 2-1, to capture the inaugural title of the CONCACAF Boys’ Under-15 Championship, in a match contested before a crowd of over 3,000 at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex on Grand Cayman.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...