F/O Elections?

quote:Originally posted by REDSequalCANADA

Buy it?

I'm a student, can't even afford wonder bread! Gotta wonder what it tastes like!

TFC is franchise. It was bought by MLSEL and they owns 100% of it and all the profits accrue to MLSEL and MLS. So why would they give anyone else ( who has'nt invested a cent nor is responsible for any cost) have a vote on who runs the club or who should be appointed to run the club?

It's not possible to do like Real Madrid in the pro sports model that we have in North america. I am not even sure that that is desirable or even better.

quote:Originally posted by TFCRegina

Categorical NO!

If TFC fans had their way, this club would be run into the ground on a lack of patience. This is coming from a TFC fan...if the manager isn't producing he'll get sacked by the owners.

Agreed. fans are too far removed from the operations side of the business to really know whats happening. So they should not have say. Only people who have invested $$$ ( shareholders) should have a say.

Too often, when these topic crop up in these forums, you see a lot of romanticism in regards to how things are done in Europe. But there is no asking whether its actually better for the game, the sport or the fans the different way professional sports organizations are legally recognized in North america versus Europe .

quote:Originally posted by REDSequalCANADA

I beleive that's why My Toronto Sports teams are where they are!

Don't ya think!

Sorry but that's the way it works in a capitalist society. Professional sports teams in NA are private businesses. The shareholders or owners decide who is in charge.

The fans are customers, and they have no more right to to elect an F/O than you have to elect a director/executive/CEO etc at Walmart, MacDonalds, or Tim Horton's. Just because you shop at Walmarts or eat at Macdonalds or Tim Hortons, does that mean that you have a vote in electing their F/O?