Interesting Article from CP re: Women's Team

VPjr

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Our women's NT had a similar numbers of international friendlies then their rivals in this year WC:

USA 15

Germany 14

Australia 13 (5 of those games had crazy scorelines like 10-0)

Canada 11

Norway 10

Brazil 10

England 9

New Zealand 9

Denmark 7

I don't see why we needed more games to practice kick and run. BTW, playing at home would've been nice but if I'm a coach who's preparing his team to play in a WC in China, I'm taking every opportunities to play games away from home to have my team prepare for tough conditions.

Interesting article where Pellerud makes it clear that none of the problems are his fault. I thought he was in charge of the women programs but maybe I am mistaken. No mention of the 4 people from his staff who have resigned (unconfirmed). Perhaps Kerfoot with all his money can hire a marketing firm to round up some more sponsors.

quote:Originally posted by loyola

Our women's NT had a similar numbers of international friendlies then their rivals in this year WC:

USA 15

Germany 14

Australia 13 (5 of those games had crazy scorelines like 10-0)

Canada 11

Norway 10

Brazil 10

England 9

New Zealand 9

Denmark 7

I don't see why we needed more games to practice kick and run.

Agreed. The US team's example illustrates that more money thrown at a programme won't solve fundamental problems that exist on the field with the style of play a team adopts.

You can have all the money in the world and it still won't quarantee anything, that's the way it is in sports. Just ask the New York Yankees. But what it will do is make you very competitve so that you have a decent chance to win. The question is do we have adequate funding that will give the team a fighting chance to be successful (however you might define that). Good for EP for speaking his mind (he is just fighting for his program).