Canadian vs Australian Preparation

Paddy

I am not an expert on Australian soccer, but they seem to be a country in a very similar circumstance to Canada. They are geographically isolated, many of their top players play in Europe and many players raised in Australia have left to play for other countries.

It would seem though that Australia is able to put a better product on the field. If not for having to qualify via Oceania, I think they would have been in the WC more frequently. They have had their lulls in internationals, but overall they seem to play more friendlies than Canada (http://www.ozfootball.net/ark/Socceroo/Socceroo.html) and have had excellent results in Confederation Cups ( a 3rd and second place finish) and have been in the last 5 Olympics, with a 4th place finish in 1992. I don't have the time to investigate each squad in each game, but I would assume that they are playing a mixed squad quite often for friendlies. I still think getting players experience is valuable whether they are A or B team caliber.

They do have a national league, though I doubt it is at the level of the MLS, probably closer to the A-League. I have also heard that they have a good youth system (academies) as well.

Now considering all this...is there anything the CSA could learn from Australia? I fail to see how we cannot match Australia as I would think they have more going against them than Canada. It does seem though that Australians get behind their teams more than in Canada. The weather may also be a factor, but still, we should be at least on par with this country.

Thoughts appreciated.

didn't the aussie soccer association disband, and was reformed as a federation, headed by some shopping mall billionaire? i say this repeatedly, canada needs to separate the mens program, and run it more like a private football club. more aggressive business structure, less community based.