MLS Superdraft is a joke

JesseDart

Hey fellas,

Is it just me or is the Superdraft a big gaf? Come on people these players are 22-25 years of age and only play competitive games in the fall. These guys might be good athletes, but they are out of form and possibly to old. It's a waste of time. Academy structure all the way - I say. If these guys are so hot, then why are they not in Europe? If it was up to me as a player, I wouldn't even enter the draft - I got a degree and can earn $60K a year or I could go play MLS and earn $24K a year. Yeah, I know, they love the sport and money is not the issue - well not until you see what beckham is getting. Anyway just my view. Really, a kid has to decide by the time they are 15 if they are serious and begin making trips overseas for try-outs and tournaments to get anywhere in the game.

They are between 20 and 22 yrs old. Some very good players have been found in this draft, Olivier Occean would be a good example.

Most of them are playing PDL so they're also playing competitive games in the summer. Some of them are members of various youth national teams so they have some international experience.

I agree, the Academy structure is the futur but before we get there the draft is the only option, and it's not a bad one.

ARGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHH

With 900,000 registered players in CSA. Why can't we get elite U-20 and U-18 regional and national leagues and have a draft?

I know apples and tangerines but if Hockey Canada can do it with 525,000 registered players .........

Sorry, I'll go find a wall to beat my head against now. [xx(]

NCAA when combined with PDL works alright and a lot of good players have come through that system and gone on to play for the USMNT and for big teams in Europe. Generation Adidas players are also selected as well so it is not just NCAA graduates. Here is an article I did for the red Patch Boys website, which sets out some of the background to it from a TFC standpoint.

----------------------