DJT Posted May 6, 2005 Share Posted May 6, 2005 Despite amacpher's "evidence", I'm still not convinced that it was a goal. I'm also bewildered by the fact that there was no camera along the goal line. I'm going to go against the grain here, but I don't think there was a penalty on the play. After this discussion came up I watched that part several times and I think the Liverpool player was in the air as he met the GK and then just fell to the ground. I don't think the GK took him down; he didn't even react that way after he fell. Also, I don't agree with the argument that "Chelsea couldn't score anyway". The early goal changed the complexion of the game. From that point on Liverpool played defensively. Who knows what would have happened had they been forced to keep things open in search of a goal. By the way, I wanted Liverpool to win. quote:Originally posted by River City As for the penalty/red card, shouldn't that be called regardless of whether or not the ball goes in? No, play can continue if the referee determines that it is to the advantage of the team against which the foul was committed. But a card could still be given afterwards. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.