What makes one a Voyageur?

Robert

Krammerhead shared on the other board how he feels about this question. Since I am fairly new at this, I'm curious as to what other think a Voyageur is? What makes one a Voyageur? Is it participation on these boards? Is it being a fan of Canadian soccer, in whatever form that may take, i.e. national teams, clubs, ect.?

I'm more of an Ultra than a Voyageur. Most of my interaction with Voyageurs has taken place on the net -- and the majority of it has been negative. Anytime there is talk of an actual Voyageur-event -- the type that the Ultras have been holding at least twice a month for the past four years -- it's always a letdown; it always turns out to be, in reality, just another Ultras event. I sense this is the case in Vancouver as well. Whenever the "Voyageurs" get together for a national team match, it's essentially a Southsider get-together with a few "Voyageur" hangers-on. It's Southside songs, southside members, southside attitude and a few Voyageurs who try and keep up. That's how it is at "Voyageur get-togethers" in Southern Ontario - just subsitute everything Southsiders with everything Ultras.

The Ultras are my long-time friends, people who I know and trust. The Voyageurs are just names on my computer-screen - and too often they're names that seem to enjoy bashing the hell out of my home-town. It's difficult to feel any particular solidarity with those types. It seems to be the same on the other side of the country, but instead they see us as somwewhat evil. heh.