Jump to content
  • Sober Second Thoughts: Seven Stages


    The seven stages of grieving are said to be shock, denial, pain, guilt, anger, bargaining and finally acceptance. On Saturday night, TFC fans went through seven stages of their own, as the last fleeting and insane possibility of a playoff berth vanished in a 3-0 loss to Chivas USA.

    However, the stages Reds’ fans went through were a little less “sensitive new age” and a lot more “raging hooligan.”


    1 - Irritation – “What is with this team?”

    2 – Agitation – “No, really, what the **** is with this club?”

    3 – Dark humour – “Jesus hates this team. That’s the only way it makes sense.”

    4 – Rage – “F***, *u**, **c*, ***k, ****ing, F***.”

    5- Self-hatred – “Why don’t I just cheer for Barcelona? Everything

    would be better.”

    6- Suicidal thoughts – “ I. Just. Can’t. Do. This. Anymore (sobbing).”

    7-Substance abuse – “Your soOoo prer8tty, Srippp er laady. . Can I geeet your bbbbm?>?”

    So, it was a long night and a long year. The year will likely get longer tomorrow when the club could possibly be eliminated in the CONCACAF Champions League as well – a loss and Dallas win against Tauro is all it would take.

    We’re aren’t going to re-open the “should they have rested players” debate again since we’ve debated it to death, but it is worth pointing out that they didn’t really rest anyone. It’s unknown whether a 3-0 loss would feel better with worse players on the pitch, but you know some fans will be pointing fingers if they don’t get the result tomorrow.

    Then again, fingers probably need to pointed anyway. Did the season need to be this bad to build for next year? Although I’ve preached patience all year, one does have moments of weakness and doubt. Youre football club shouldn’t drive you to drink. TFC would send a catholic nun to AA.

  • Create New...